When Punk meets its Best Friend

About a month ago I had a rather exciting first meeting with a friend I’d met online. He only lived an hour from me and we hadn’t known each other that long, but we decided to hang out for a few hours.

Before the meeting, I already knew the basics: he liked surfing and hip-hop. I was somewhat prepared, having already listened to R 指定ラップ, a Japanese underground rapper he recommended. However, after finding each other at the station and making our way towards the Science Museum, I quickly realized our differences stretched much further than favorite songs.

Usually, I’m able to find common ground with friends fairly easily. If they like pop, I can usually compromise with throwback tunes like Britney Spears or bond through pop punk. However, with a love for hip-hop and jazz, he showed absolutely no interest in my pop punk, nor did he enjoy the violent screams of my old Japanese punk CDs. Instead, he named old rap groups like N.W.A and Public Enemy—both of who I know OF, but don’t really listen to. I was left speechless, staring at the brightness of my blue converse.

We were so opposite that even the dark green of his outfit contrasted the blue-white get up I’d chosen. I wondered if we’d be able to survive the rest of the day without coming to some weird cultural/interest-based clash. Luckily we were both able to make the absolute best of the situation, and I’ve since been researching hip-hop in an attempt to relate. Although it’s probably the hardest I’ve tried. Nonetheless, I feel it was fate in a weird way. With hip-hop becoming more and more popular amongst my friends, it was only a matter of time before the wave hit me, so here’s what I’ve been trying out.

ILL MIND OF HOPSIN– Hopsin
My younger brother actually really likes Hopsin, so I’ve been familiar with his work. I really enjoy the dark theme of his songs and videos, even if I don’t always agree. I wish more rap artists had the same aesthetic.

Not Afraid– Eminem
I asked my friend what songs he listens to when he needs encouragement and he mentioned this one. This isn’t my first listen, don’t worry. Hahaha. Who doesn’t know Eminem, though?

Lose Control-Missy Elliot
Super old song, but one of my favorite Missy Elliot songs. Gawd I love her.

I Can – Nas
My friend’s favorite song. TALK ABOUT NOSTALGIC.

No Scrubs– TLC
I know this isn’t rap, but when I picked my brain for anything close to the genre, I got into listening to TLC again.

Hahaha! This list really just turned into Nostalgia Pt 2.

Leave a Reply

